My bum is purple, and other updates

So here’s what’s going on in my life this week.

1. For those who recall last week’s post, I was in the finals of a radio spelling contest last Friday. I dominated round one and made it to the top two, but then I lost. Not due to my inability to spell, no sir, more due to the fact that the dj heard other dude yell his name before I yelled mine (the radio version of ringing the buzzer, I guess).  He spelled hodgepodge correctly. I was a little bitter.  Hodgepodge, really? That’s two little words stuck together, where’s the challenge, c’mon! But earning second place won me a gift certificate to a camera store in Namdaemun for a whopping 20,000 won. It came in the mail yesterday. Woop woop!

2. Last night Jon and I ventured into Guri after work so that I could visit the Clinique counter. Love me some Clinique, I’ll tell ya. When we hopped on the bus back to Pdong it lurched as I was taking my seat and I fell, very ungracefully, against the side arm/bus wall. My butt hit the arm rest directly and at a very high velocity.  The pain was momentous. I was stuck between tears and laughter at the whole ridiculous event, but more on the teary side of things. Jon didn’t really know what to do, since I spent the next several minutes moaning/laughing/covering my face with my hands/writhing in pain, until eventually the initial anguish subsided.  A few hours later I checked the damage-I have a huge bruise on my right cheek maybe, I don’t know, 6 inches in diameter. And  I’m not exaggerating. Marisa and I even took photos, but it’s just too obvious that it’s my bottom-I’m not putting that business on the interwebs, you pervs.  The bruise is currently a bright shade of purple/black. I can barely walk. I’m stumbling about like an old lady, and I’m frightened of anything that will even barely brush the area.  It was a rough day at Reading Town. Little kids pretty much hit me in the upper thigh/ass/ lower stomach region, and there’s a lot of poking that goes on. Also, I have to sit and lean over to one side to avoid more pain. I look forward to watching the color progression over the next week or so.

3. I don’t know why I can’t put videos up on here from my own laptop. It’s really annoying me. But if anyone is interested in ever checking out some of the one’s I’ve taken, you can find them on my facebook.

4. Colin and Jenn left Saturday. It was horribly sad. I’m still sad. I keep expecting to see Colin sitting in the teacher’s room when I walk in in the mornings, with his normal greeting of “word” or “hey tramp”  and I’m always disappointed when he’s not there. And at lunch time I wait for Jenn to pop in and head over to the Big side, but it doesn’t happen. Of course I’ll get used to the new people, but I’m not particularly happy during this transition. On Friday, their last day, Marisa and I  gave Jenn a combo of sweet and rockin K-Pop cds (2ne1, Super Junior, and someone else, I forget) and we presented Colin with a Lego backpack from the Lego Academy down the street (Yes, there are academies in Korea that focus solely on teaching kid’s crazy lego skills-Cool!). He was beyond ecstatic, and I actually caught his progression of emotions on camera.

Opening the (heavily wrapped) package...

Opening the (heavily wrapped) package...

ecstasy...

ecstasy...

Showing off the merch!

Showing off the merch!

It was an emotional couple of days, but Friday in particular was hard for everyone. Colin and Jenn kept crying, Marisa and I kept bursting into tears, the kids were upset….it was hard to let them go, for everyone.

Little RT dream team for the last time

Little RT dream team for the last time

On a hilarious note, Mrs. Yoo gifted our favorite departing couple with a matching pair of couple’s underwear-a very Korean idea, for sure. Jealous!

Ooolala!

Ooolala!

Saturday morning Marisa and I met Colin and Jenn and they forwarded on the location, on their last morning in Korea, of the super-secret and super-fabulous best coffeshop in Pyeongnae. I cannot reveal it’s location until I too am about to leave Korea, and only then if there is a foreigner deserving of this knowledge. After a delicious brunch, and more crying on the streets, we said our final goodbyes. I feel lucky to know those two, and I look forward to a fabulous reunion some day soon in the arctic north that is Canada. Someday, friends!

5. This is what it looks like when I let Cleo take pictures of me with my camera.

stern teacher face!

stern teacher face!

And when I take equally close-up pictures of her.

Shiny baby girl face!

Shiny baby girl face!

6. I’m looking into possibly running a 5 or 10k next month, which would be lovely. I heard about it through friends, and I have no idea what the actual date is, so I’m hoping it will fit into my schedule. Also trying to go on a temple stay at one of the Buddhist temples in Korea, so it will be a busy few weekends in September. I’m really looking forward to the change of seasons. It’s already cooling down.  Wore my skinny jeans today without cuffing them at all-it’s a sign of the change, people! Color changing leaves, here you come!

Leave a Reply

