Cupcake Extravaganza

My brain is feeling incredibly scattered today, so the post will be done in a manner parallel to that. First off-I’m trying out a new theme. You like? I enjoy simplicity, the brown and white-nesss really appealed to my sense of asthetics.

I can’t wait to see the new Alice in Wonderland. Tim Burton does amazing work. I know all you folks in America have probably seen way more about than I, but I saw a trailer today for the first time and my heart was all a-twitter. I’m excited!

Lunch yesterday included a small fruit salad (tomato, apple, orange, raisins) which was completely doused in mayonnaise. Not a blended mayo concoction either, just a straight jar of Helman’s (the Korean version?) dumped in a bowl of fruit. Disgusting. Except for actually, really delicious once you get past the fact that you’re eating icky, thick, artery clogging mayonnaise directly. May as well give the kids the jar and let them go at it.

Gloria teacher is in charge of song class this semester, which is the perfect fit for her. However, she has made some, shall we say, “interesting” song choices for the little cherubim to sing. Because some of the songs are difficult, she made mixed cds for each teacher to play during lunch time every day as to let the children get familiar with the tunes. Songs that I have thus been forced to listen to every day for the past several weeks/months:

Michael Jackson-“You Are Not Alone”   A favorite of Lion class. They beg me “teacher, number 5!” nearly every day as this hot jam is # 5 on the cd.

Michael Jackson-“Heal the World”    See the developing pattern of MJ love.

Queen-“We Will Rock You”  Kinda scary coming from the babies’ mouths.

Mariah Carey- “All I Want for Christmas is You”

“I Will Follow Him”  Yes, the hymn. The one from Sister Act. And they love it. This is the current fave. They’re great at the harmonies and callbacks as well, ie “I will follow him (follow him!)/follow him wherever he may go(ooooooooooooOOOOOAAAAHHHoooooo)/there isn’t an ocean too deep(too deep!)…

“L-O-V-E”  You know-L, is for the way you look at me, O is for the only one I see, etc etc. They aren’t good at saying the part about “extraordinary” but it helps their spelling!

Bee Gees- “How Deep is Your Love”

“O Happy Day” When Jesus washed my sins away. Hymns, perfect for school time.

Many others. The list seems to keep growing as the months pass.

It may sound like I’m complaining, but in fact I love listening to the kids sing. And I enjoy singing to them. Since I know all the words to all of these songs, I generally just croon along at lunchtime, serenading various students to much laughter.Sometimes Gloria and I harmonize. Chopsticks make good microphones.  Mark in particular loves to sing by himself, and is quite the dancer as well. I’m all for music in school!

Yesterday in conversation class with Nemo, the youngest class of 6 years (they all started in the new semester, September, rather than February when the other kids started, and which is when the academic year starts in Korea) Jenny teacher and I were teaching the script for next week which asks “What are you scared of?” Come to find out Edward is scared of waking up late because his mom punishes him by making him stand with his arms lifted up above his head for a long time. Made me nostalgic for my days of cross country running and punishments for us-shout out to Coach Kyrk! And Grace is scared of one of the girls from the K-Pop group Brown Eyed Girls. Why? Because she has small eyes and a very white face. So Grace said in Korean to Jenny teacher.

Marisa and I just spent a fabulous afternoon making delicious and artistically fabulous cupcakes. Halloween-themed and all. I made the icing from scratch-not that it’s that hard to make or anything-but we didn’t get enough powdered sugar, so the icing ended up a bit on the liquidy side. Still delish though. Also, we made a trip to the glorious basement supermarket of GS Square to acquire the ingredients needed for these cupcakes-not as easy to find in Korea as you would think and spent, get this, FIFTY DOLLARS. Korean dollars, but 50.  Powdered sugar, cake mix, m&m’s, eggs, colored icing thingies, tools, vanilla extract. So expensive. Still, worth it. Although I don’t actually like to eat cupcakes. But I do enjoy making them.

The mix was German, with Korean stickers over the German. Good thing Marisa speaks German.

The mix was German, with Korean stickers over the German. Good thing Marisa speaks German.

pre-art

pre-art

Are you frightened yet?

Are you frightened yet?

Gooey goo

Gooey goo

punkins, ghosts and googly eyed monsters!

punkins, ghosts and googly eyed monsters!

Intense concentration from Marisa Bee

Intense concentration from Marisa Bee

Eeeee!

Eeeee!

See, that cupcake says "eek!"

See, that cupcake says "eek!"

Thus ends my haphazardly put together blog.  Here’s a picture of some cute kids I saw today at the market, decked out in their masks to prevent the spread of the dreaded swine flu.

Cuuuute.

Cuuuute.

2 thoughts on “Cupcake Extravaganza

Leave a Reply

