R.I.P. LG x120

This is a sad day.

My poor little laptop has called it quits-I believe for the last time. I’ve only had the little one for a year and a half, purchased in Korea with my first real paycheck back in March/April of 2009….le sigh. It’s not even that the laptop is broken, but that the power dock/area is broken, and is therefore not recognizing that it’s plugged in, and refuses to charge. So a slow death for my baby. We had a good run, darling. I miss you already.

The early demise of my computer is causing more undue stress in my life. I’m feeling spread thin, and all I do is school! I don’t have a job, that is NOT spreading oneself thin. I’m disappointed in myself for deciding not to run the half-marathon on Sunday-I put a stop to my training mid-September, which looking back was silly because I was less than a month away. Nonetheless, my runs hadn’t been going well, and with coming back to the States/moving into my place/starting school/being really sore and lame I’d missed several key long runs. I wasn’t feeling good about anything. I’ve been pondering running the race anyway. I’m registered, I already paid my $50, I only stopped doing the training in September, I’ve still been working out and doing cardio 3-5 times a week, I probably wouldn’t die…but I maybe would hurt myself. And my time would be slower than my last half, so I’d be even more disappointed in myself. It’s a crappy place to be in, my mind.

I’ve been thinking that now that I’m 26, I’m on the side closer to 30. So maybe it’s time to come up with a 30-before-30 list of things I’d like to do. I’ve accomplished a lot in my life so far, I think, and this would be a good exercise in putting some thought into what I’d really like to complete over the next few years. Any ideas?

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. LG x120

  1. Omg, Ashley! I’m just so impressed that you work out 3-5 times a week and you’ve done a half marathon before! Do not beat yourself up for not doing this one!
    And focusing on one super stressful thing is enough! I know I always start feeling run down when I’m spread thin. I think you made the right choice to stop training if you were feeling that way.
    Let us know what you decide!
    Hope you have a beautiful/guilt-free weekend!!!

  2. Aw thank you so much! That’s really sweet of you-trust me, I sound more hard-working than I am in real life, methinks…I’m trying to not be too hard on myself, your kind words are really nice! Hope you have a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

