bits and pieces

Every few weeks it’s nice to cull photos from my phone. I would call this “weekend bits”, but that would be disingenuous since these photos are anywhere from a day or two to two weeks old….so bits it is! England seems to have fallen back into that pattern again where it rains and is miserable for 4 or 5 days, and then we’re graced with glorious sunshine for 1 or 2 days. Not the best situation, but I’ll take it (I mean, I have so many choices, right?). And I’ve also been informed that apparently the autumnal color change of leaves comes later here? I’m not sure if that’s true, but I’m hoping for some red orange yellow leaf action here, sooner rather than later.

A goodbye party Friday night for a co-worker of mine led to a night at a local karaoke bar where I was the most shameless of all performers, as is my wont. It reminded me of all the Korean noraebangs that I spent so much time in back in Pyeongnae and Seoul, and my heart ached a little bit. (And a quick British to American English lesson here for anyone who is interested-parties are more often than not called “dos” here. For example: goodbye party=leaving do, bachelor party=stag do, bachelorette party=hen do. I don’t get it, but it’s one of the language things that I enjoy. Leaving do! It’s fun to say!)

Saturday’s plans were for a night out with Jon’s friend Nick, who is on a short holiday from his life living and teaching in Japan and returns to Asia on Tuesday. At the last minute I decided to stay home and eat ice cream while watching “greatest pop dance crazes” instead of joining the guys, and so Jon and I ended up doing separate things and he had a manly man sausage fest while I indulged in the aforementioned tv show and then Kevin Smith movies and banana bread beer. It was all very nice and different from our normal, oh-so-intertwined weekend living.

This weekend has left me thinking so much of Korea and days gone by. Right now I’m watching Formula 1 with Jon; it’s the Korean Grand Prix. Friday night’s karaoke, and Jon’s friend coming from Japan (which led to much discussion between he and Jon about Japanese/Korean cultural similarities and differences), have all just planted the nostalgic seed in my mind. My time spent there was so challenging to me on a personal level for a million different reasons, but it was also the time when I met Jon, and lived with a girl who is still one of my best friends, and when I spent every weekend exploring and really, I can say with no doubt, living life to the fullest. Sometimes I feel like living in a country that is so comfortable for my other half (and, let’s be honest, not having that same level of expendable income as I did in Korea) have led to a more apathetic existence, with much less adventuring. It happens to everyone-every foreign person I have ever met while in the States had done more touristy things than I, as a citizen, had done-it’s what you do! And I miss that. Here’s to hoping that after I finish this CELTA and get back in the groove of well paid work that I can convince Jon to explore more of this beautiful world with me-even if it’s his own back yard.

2 thoughts on “bits and pieces

Leave a Reply

